Honest comparison · facts checked 16 October 2026
Veedio vsSteve AI
Steve AI is a broad video studio: animation, avatars, live and generative styles, a free plan, and exports up to 2K on Pro. Veedio makes one narrated short at a time from your topic, shows you the script first, publishes it for you, and starts at $7 a month.
Everything in Steve AI’s column comes from their own public pages, read on 16 October 2026 and linked at the bottom of this page, so you can check every claim yourself. We have not audited any of it.
Steve AI and Veedio both turn words into a finished video, and Steve AI covers far more ground. Its homepage lists 7+ output styles — animations, generative AI and live video — with animated talking-head avatars, a translator for 10+ languages, and inputs from a prompt, a script, a blog or your own audio. Its pricing page lists 300+ animated characters on Starter and Pro, exports up to 2K on Pro and 4K on Enterprise, team collaboration from Basic, and a free plan. For animated explainers, training videos, landscape YouTube content or a team workspace, it is the broader tool, and we do not match it.
Veedio does one thing: a narrated, captioned vertical short for TikTok, Reels and Shorts. You say what it is about, the script and the shot list come back before the render spends anything on the frames, every scene is made for its own line, and you publish it to all three platforms from the video’s page with each post’s stats read back there. Our entry plan is billed monthly at a lower price than theirs shows, with a refund window on the first payment. If your videos are short-form social posts, read ours; for nearly anything else, read theirs.
Be honest first
What Steve AI does better
Five things, unhedged. If any of them is what you are buying, they are the better purchase and this is the paragraph that says so.
Many styles, not one
Their homepage lists 7+ video output styles including animations, generative AI and live videos, and formats from explainers and kids’ content to promo ads and YouTube intros. Veedio makes one kind of thing: a narrated vertical short.
Animated characters and avatars
Their pricing page lists 300+ animated characters on Starter and Pro, and AI avatar minutes on every plan — 75, 150 and 400 a month on Basic, Starter and Pro. Our presenter scenes are Pro and Studio only, from a fixed roster.
Higher resolution on the upper plans
Their comparison table lists 720p on Basic, 1080p on Starter, 2K on Pro and 4K on Enterprise, all as .mp4. Every Veedio render is 1080-class, with no 2K or 4K on any plan.
Your own media and audio in
Their table lists uploading your own media from Basic and a voice-to-video feature that takes an MP3 or WAV of up to five minutes. No video or audio goes into Veedio at all.
A free plan, teams, and a large user base
Their pricing page has a free plan with AI avatar minutes and credits, and team collaboration from Basic; their homepage says 7M+ happy users and a 5-star rating on Product Hunt. We ask for a plan first, and have no team seats and no review score.
And what we lose at, on every page
- Five voices, and that is the entire catalogue. They narrate 29 languages, but there is no cloning, no accent picker and no second voice to pick for a different niche.
- No video or audio goes in. Footage you already filmed cannot be captioned, clipped, dubbed or repurposed — an image or a PDF can be uploaded as a *source*, but the video is always built from scratch.
- No 4K. Every render is 1080-class, and there are five caption styles — bold, pop, highlight, subtle, none — all burned in, with no subtitle file and no custom font.
- Three minutes is the ceiling. No face swap, no voice cloning, no translation of an existing video. Presenter scenes pick from a roster of 4 hosted faces on Pro and Studio — none of them is yours, and you cannot upload one.
- No review score, because we are new. A made-up one is the fastest way to deserve a bad one.
Where we are ahead
What Veedio does better
Publishing to TikTok, Reels and Shorts
Publish from the video’s own page to all three platforms, and read each post’s views, likes, comments and shares back in the same place. Their FAQ names direct publishing to YouTube; their pricing table lists social media management only as an Enterprise add-on.
A lower entry price, billed monthly
Our Mini plan is $7 a month, billed monthly, for 200 credits. Their plan grid shows Basic at $10 a month billed yearly ($120), with 720p exports.
The script before anything renders
On any plan, every tool page writes the real script and shot list for your topic before the render spends credits on frames, so you judge the writing first.
A 7-day money-back guarantee
Not for you? Email us within seven days of the first payment for a full refund. Their pricing page says you can cancel at any time and keep access to the end of the cycle, but states no refund policy.
Captions timed from the voice itself
Word timings come from the voice model’s own character alignment, because we generated the narration, so captions land on the syllable rather than near it.
Side by side
13 rows, and who each one favours
Steve AI's column is their own published information, read on 16 October 2026 and not audited by us.
By our own count: 2 rows to us, 6 to Steve AI, 5 even.
What it is built around
EvenSteve AI: A studio: 7+ output styles, from animation and avatars to live and generative video
Veedio: A vertical short: your topic, the script shown first, then every scene rendered
Plans
EvenSteve AI: Basic $10/mo, Starter $30, Pro $40, Generative AI $40 billed yearly ($120, $360, $480, $480); Enterprise custom
Veedio: Mini $7/mo, Starter $19, Pro $49, Studio $149, billed monthly
Starting free
Steve AISteve AI: A free plan with AI avatar minutes and credits; paid plans unlock watermark-free videos
Veedio: No free tier: a plan first, from $7 a month, with a 7-day money-back guarantee on the first payment
Export resolution
Steve AISteve AI: 720p Basic, 1080p Starter, 2K Pro, 4K Enterprise
Veedio: 1080-class on every plan
Animated characters and avatars
Steve AISteve AI: 100 to 300+ animated characters by plan; 75 to 400 AI avatar minutes a month
Veedio: Presenter scenes on Pro and Studio, from a roster of 4
Your own media
Steve AISteve AI: Upload your own media from Basic; audio to video from an MP3 or WAV up to five minutes
Veedio: None: no video or audio goes in
Languages
EvenSteve AI: An AI video translator for 10+ languages, per their homepage
Veedio: 29 narration languages, the same five voices in each
Teams
Steve AISteve AI: Team collaboration from Basic; shared library and brand management higher up
Veedio: One account per plan; no team seats
Publishing
VeedioSteve AI: Direct publishing to YouTube, per their FAQ; social media management an Enterprise add-on
Veedio: TikTok, Reels and Shorts from the video’s page, with post stats read back; 1 account on Mini up to 25 on Studio
Script before the render
EvenSteve AI: An Advanced Prompter builds a script from your idea, per their homepage
Veedio: The script and shot list come back before the render spends credits on frames
Refunds
VeedioSteve AI: Not stated on their pricing page; cancel any time and keep access to the end of the cycle
Veedio: A 7-day money-back guarantee on the first payment
Unused credits
EvenSteve AI: Reset each billing cycle, monthly and yearly plans alike
Veedio: Topped back up to the plan’s allowance each renewal; they do not stack
Users and reviews
Steve AISteve AI: 7M+ happy users and a 5-star Product Hunt rating, per their homepage
Veedio: None. We are new
| Steve AI | Veedio | Edge | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is built around | A studio: 7+ output styles, from animation and avatars to live and generative video | A vertical short: your topic, the script shown first, then every scene rendered | Even |
| Plans | Basic $10/mo, Starter $30, Pro $40, Generative AI $40 billed yearly ($120, $360, $480, $480); Enterprise custom | Mini $7/mo, Starter $19, Pro $49, Studio $149, billed monthly | Even |
| Starting free | A free plan with AI avatar minutes and credits; paid plans unlock watermark-free videos | No free tier: a plan first, from $7 a month, with a 7-day money-back guarantee on the first payment | Steve AI |
| Export resolution | 720p Basic, 1080p Starter, 2K Pro, 4K Enterprise | 1080-class on every plan | Steve AI |
| Animated characters and avatars | 100 to 300+ animated characters by plan; 75 to 400 AI avatar minutes a month | Presenter scenes on Pro and Studio, from a roster of 4 | Steve AI |
| Your own media | Upload your own media from Basic; audio to video from an MP3 or WAV up to five minutes | None: no video or audio goes in | Steve AI |
| Languages | An AI video translator for 10+ languages, per their homepage | 29 narration languages, the same five voices in each | Even |
| Teams | Team collaboration from Basic; shared library and brand management higher up | One account per plan; no team seats | Steve AI |
| Publishing | Direct publishing to YouTube, per their FAQ; social media management an Enterprise add-on | TikTok, Reels and Shorts from the video’s page, with post stats read back; 1 account on Mini up to 25 on Studio | Veedio |
| Script before the render | An Advanced Prompter builds a script from your idea, per their homepage | The script and shot list come back before the render spends credits on frames | Even |
| Refunds | Not stated on their pricing page; cancel any time and keep access to the end of the cycle | A 7-day money-back guarantee on the first payment | Veedio |
| Unused credits | Reset each billing cycle, monthly and yearly plans alike | Topped back up to the plan’s allowance each renewal; they do not stack | Even |
| Users and reviews | 7M+ happy users and a 5-star Product Hunt rating, per their homepage | None. We are new | Steve AI |
Feature and pricing details checked 16 October 2026 on steve.ai/pricing (plans, comparison table and FAQ), steve.ai (homepage and FAQ). Spotted something outdated? Email us and we will fix it.
Which one you should actually buy
Choose Steve AI if
- You want animated characters, talking-head avatars or live-style video, not only narrated shorts.
- You need 2K or 4K exports.
- You want to bring your own media or turn a podcast recording into a video.
- You want a free plan to start, or seats for a team.
- You make landscape YouTube, training or explainer videos as well as shorts.
Choose Veedio if
- You make vertical shorts for TikTok, Reels and Shorts and nothing else.
- You want to publish to all three from one page and read each post’s stats there.
- You want to read and change the script before anything renders.
- You want monthly billing from $7 with a refund window on the first payment.
- You want captions timed to the narration’s own syllables.
Try it rather than read about it
The tools people switch for
Each one writes a real script and shot list on the page, so you can judge the writing before you make the whole video. A plan comes first.
Text to Video Generator
Paste any block of text and get it back as a narrated, captioned vertical video with a frame per scene.
Try it outAI Cartoon Video Generator
Bright, rendered cartoon frames with a narrated script and captions that land on the word.
Try it outYouTube Shorts Generator
Shorts that answer the question in the title, in under a minute, with captions timed to the voice.
Try it outQuestions
Is Veedio a Steve AI alternative?
For narrated, captioned vertical shorts that you publish to TikTok, Reels and Shorts, yes. For animated characters, avatars, 2K or 4K exports, team workspaces or landscape explainers, Steve AI does far more than we do.
Which is cheaper?
Their plan grid shows Basic at $10 a month billed yearly ($120) and Starter at $30 billed yearly ($360). Our Mini plan is $7 a month billed monthly, and Starter is $19. They also have a free plan with monthly AI avatar minutes and video credits; we have nothing like it.
Can I get a refund on either one?
Steve AI’s pricing page says you can cancel at any time and keep access to the end of the billing cycle; it does not state a refund policy. Veedio has a 7-day money-back guarantee on the first payment.
Can Veedio make animated cartoon videos like Steve AI?
Veedio’s cartoon tool pages make a narrated short with a generated frame for each scene, but there is no character library or animation editor. Steve AI lists 300+ animated characters with actions and backgrounds on its paid plans, which is the better fit for character animation.
Where did these numbers come from?
Steve AI’s own pricing page (plan grid, comparison table and FAQ) and homepage, read on 16 October 2026 and linked below. We have not audited any of it and their plans change.
Try ours before you decide
Every tool page needs a plan before it writes anything. Plans from $7/month (Mini), and the first payment has a 7-day money-back guarantee. Ten seconds of reading is enough to judge whether the writing is any good.